Best 15 Books Like Harry Potter

Best 15 Books Like Harry Potter

After finishing the Harry Potter Series people thought that there is no other series like Harry Potter. Everyone who is a fan of the Harry Potter series wants to read more stories that are like harry potter. 

After a little effort and by just looking at the right place we have found out some amazing books which are like harry potter series. 

Here is the compiled list of best books like harry potter which is the best adult fanfiction.

Best 15 Books like Harry Potter

The Alchemyst: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel

By Michael Scott

You have listened about the Nicholas Flamel character in the Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. This book series based on his life and story.  

The Alchemyst is written by the Irish author Michael Scott and published in May 2007. It is the first part of The secrets of the immortal Nicholas Flamel.

There are six parts of the secrets of The Immortal Nicholas Flamel series:

  1. The Alchemyst
  2. The Magician
  3. The Sorceress
  4. The Necromancer
  5. The Warlock
  6. The Enchantress

If you are a true Harry Potter fan who wants to read more books like Harry Potter, this fantasy book is for you.

The Secret of Platform 13

By Eva Ibbotson

The secret of Platform 13 is a children’s novel written by British writer Eva Ibbotson and published in 1994. This has gained extra popularity when people found the similarity with Harry potter’s first part, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.

In both books have mentioned a platform on London’s Kings Cross station, which leads to a different world.

The Magicians

By Lev Grossman

The Magicians is an adult fantasy novel written by an American author Lev Grossman and published in 2009. 

This book follows the story of a young boy named Quentin Coldwater. Who discovers and attends a secret institution of magic in new york.

The Magician has three parts:

  1. The Magicians published in 2009
  2. The Magician King published in 2011
  3. The Magician’s Land published in 2014

Pennyroyal Academy

By M.A. Larson

Pennyroyal Academy is a Fantasy Fiction novel written by an American Author M.A Larson and published in October 2014. 

When a girl from a forest unexpectedly joins pennyroyal Academy, a school where princes and knights are trained as protectors of the land. Protectors who battle the two great menaces of the day: dragons and witches. 

Pennyroyal Academy has three volumes:

  1. Pennyroyal Academy
  2. The Shadow Cadets of Pennyroyal Academy
  3. The Warrior Princess of Pennyroyal Academy

The Kane Chronicles

By Rick Riordan

The Kane Chronicles is an adventure trilogy and an Egyptian mythological fiction written by an American author Rick Riordan and first-part published in 2010. The story is narrated alternatively in the first person by two powerful magician siblings: Carter and Sadie Kane.

Both were the descended from the pharos and magicians and they both fought with the god of evil to save their father, who was captured by the evil god.

The Kane Chronicles has three volumes:

  1. The Red Pyramid (2010)
  2. The Throne of Fire (2011)
  3. The Serpent’s Shadow (2012)

Those who had an obsession with egyptology in their childhood, This is the novel which can fulfill your obsession.


By Cornelia Funke

Inkheart is a young adult fantasy novel by a German author Cornelia Funke and published in 2003. Although Funke is a Children’s fiction author Inkheart will give a thrill to adults as well.

This story follows a young girl Meggie and her father and they discover an extraordinary power. Just by reading a book aloud, they can bring any fictional character into the real world. 

But every story has a twist, In this story every fictional character that comes out of the book, someone has to take their place. 

Both Father-daughter takes responsibility to get all the characters back in their rightful pages.

But those functional characters were not ready to go back to their place. 


By Neil Gaiman

Neverwhere is an urban fantasy novel written by an English author Neil Gaiman and published in September 1996. Richard Matthews an average English businessman went to help a bleeding girl. 

Rather helping her he falls and went through the crack to the unknown world. Now he has to survive among monsters, angles, and murderers alike if he ever hopes to return to his normal life.   

The Night Circus

By Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus is a fantasy novel written by an American author Erin Morgenstern and published in 2011. It is a wandering magical circus in Victorian London that comes without warning and leaves without notice. 

It opens from sunset to sunrise only, The circus of dreams featuring lots of magical things like – blooming garden made all of the ice, acrobats soaring without a net, and a vertical cloud maze were patrons who get lost simply step off and float gently to the floor.

A Discovery of Witches

By Deborah Harkness

A Discovery of Witches is a historical-fantasy novel written by an American author Deborah Harkness and published in 2011. This is the first book of the All Souls trilogy.

This story follows a young historian Diana bishop who discovers an ancient magical manuscript in Oxford’s library.  she is forced to reconcile with the witch heritage which she has long denied.

All books of the All Souls trilogy: 

  1. A Discovery of witches
  2. Shadow of Night
  3. The Book of Life

Storm Front

By Jim Butcher

Storm Front is a fantasy novel written by an American author Jim Butcher and published in 2000. It is the first part of The Dresden Files series. 

This book is written from the perspective of the main character, Harry Dresden a private investigator and wizard. He recounts investigations into supernatural powers and disturbances in Chicago.

The Dresden files series has 18 books till now and every part has an interesting and thriller story.  

The Queen of the Tearling

By Erika Johansen

Despite being the debut novel of Erika Johansen this book is a fire. The Queen of the Tearling is a trilogy series that follows a story of a princess named Kelsea Raleigh Glynn. She struggles to defeat the red queen and wents to the royal castle to claim her throne. 

3 Parts of The Queens of the Tearling trilogy: 

  1. The Queen of the Tearling (2014)
  2. The Invasion of the Tearling (2015)
  3. The Fate of the Tearling (2016)

City of Bones

by Cassandra Clare

City of Bones is an urban fantasy novel written by an American author Cassandra Clear. It is a part of Cassandra’s NewYork Times bestseller series The Mortal Instruments.

It’s a story of a 15 years old girl Clary Fray who inducted into the world of the Shadowhunters – a secret group of a demon-slaying worrier. Clary finds out that she too is a hybrid who is half-angel and half-human. 

After her mother is kidnapped by a traitor shadow hunter, she teams up with a boy to rescue her mother. But after some time they begin to develop feelings for each other without they didn’t even know.

Dragon Keeper series 

by Kate Klimo

If you are a real Harry Potter story lover then you would definitely like the Dragon Keeper series. In this series 10-years old cousins, Jesse and Daisy unintentionally become dragon keepers. 

They get a newborn dragon named Emmy. Over the course of the series, they try to protect and save the Emmy from evil St. George and so much more.

Dragon keeper Series has 6 Parts:

  1. The Dragon in the Sock Drawer
  2. The Dragon in the Driveway
  3. The Dragon in the Library
  4. The Dragon in the volcano
  5. The Dragon in the Sea
  6. The Dragon at the North Pole

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *