Site icon The SoftBook

23 Best Books like ‘The Fault in our Stars’

23-Books-Like-The-Fault-in-Our-Star-1

The Fault in our stars was initially released in 2012 and I guess you have already read this bestseller that’s why it is here. This book has made us laugh and cry many times throughout the story. This bittersweet story of Hazel and Augustus with tragic turns has a separate place in our hearts. 

There is a movie adaptation of this novel as well starring Ansel Elgort and Shailene Woodley. The iconic movie brought this unforgettable story to the big screen. 

Anyways, If you guys are looking for more books like this, you are at the right place. We have accumulated novels that have the same kind of sweet and tragic story and romance. Check out these books.

 List of 23 Books like ‘The Fault in our stars’

With that said, Let’s Begin

1. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

By Jesse Andrews 

A Boy Named Graig Gains, who is in high school and a social loner. He has been forced by his mother to make a friendship with a girl who has leukemia. Initially, it sounds like a tear-jerker but in fact, it is a funny book. After reading this book definitely, you’ll wanna watch the movie adaptation of this book which was released in 2015 starring Olivia Cooke and Thomas Mann.

2. A Place Apart

By Paula Fox

This is a National Book award winner book. This book revolves around a teen girl Victoria Finch, She had a huge loss of her father. After her father’s death, Victoria and her mother move to another town, where she is being forced to make new friends. Victoria was unable to connect with others. But then she meets a charming and positive boy Hugh Todd, who is in charge of the school’s drama club. Hugh likes Victoria’s writing abilities and he encourages her at every step and keeps reminding her to challenge herself. Gradually they both come closer and this will remind readers of Hazel’s journey in The Fault in our Stars. 

3. The Memory Book

By Lara Avery

A teenage girl, whose name is Sammie Mccoy and she is diagnosed with a rare genetic disorder. Firstly, It will affect her memory and can cause memory loss, and then it will start to affect her physical health. So, She starts to journal to her future self so that she can remember the most important parts of her life. Readers will feel an unexpected and heartbreaking experience. 

Advertisement

4. Five Feet Apart

By Mikki Daughtry, Rachael Lippincott, and Tobias Iaconis

There are two teenagers who are suffering from a very dangerous disease called cystic fibrosis. They can’t come close to each other as germs can be very harmful to each other. But when Will and Stela fall in love with each other, they have to figure out that their love and relationship are worth life-threatening risks.

The movie adaptation is also there which is released in 2019, starring Cole Sprouse and Haley Lu Richardson.

5. The Sun Is Also a Star

By Nicola Yoon

The girl whose name is Natasha doesn’t believe in fate. But there is a guy named Denial who is certain that the universe brought for her only. The universe brings them together for a reason. Will they be able to overcome the struggle which will tear them apart?

This New York Times bestseller has a movie adaptation as well which was released in 2019.

6. A Walk to Remember

By Nicholas Sparks

A minister’s daughter named Jamie and a teen rebel Landon. There was not much difference between the two. But, They both changed when they fell in love with each other. Their love faces struggle when Jamie reveals the secret which she was keeping from Landon. 

This is a very special story and a reader definitely knows this. 

7. A Spectacular Now

By Tim Tharp

The Boy named Shutter is a high school student and a party animal. He just loves to do parties and he doesn’t care about the future. He was living in “A Spectacular Now”. 

Then he meets with a girl named Aimee who makes him realize that there are many things in his life that can make him happy apart from alcohol and parties. 

A movie adaptation is also there, released in 2013 starring Shailen Woodly and Miles Teller.

8. The Beginning of Everything

By Robyn Schnieder 

Ezra is a young and promising tennis player. He finds out that his girlfriend is cheating on him and after that, he meets with a car accident which ruins his athletic career. 

After some time he meets with his old friend Toby and a new girl Cassidy. With their help, Ezra finds out his own identity.

9. They Both Die at the End

By Adam Silvera

Meteo and Rufus connect with each other through the app which unites those who are told that their end is near. Yes, They both got the news that they’re gonna die today. 

Advertisement

That’s why they connect through the app and decide to make a great day to their last day. 

This book got much Recognition like best of the year from Kirkus and School Library Journal

10. Zac and Mia

By A.J Betts

An Australian Boy named Zac is going through intensive leukemia treatment. In the same facility, he meets Mia who is another cancer patient. Zac is positive and looking forward to healing from the treatment. On the other hand, Mia is too pessimistic and she has closed herself from the rest of the world. 

11. Rules for 50/50 Chances

By Kate McGovern

Rose Levenson who is a 17 years old girl, her mother was dying of Huntington’s disease and now Rose can be in danger also if she has the mutation that could give her the disease as well. Then she meets a boy Caleb whose mother and sister have sickle-cell anemia.

While reading this book readers will be able to feel the pain if they would have to decide in the place of Rose.

12. Side Effects May Very

By Julie Murphy

Alice is a 16-years-old girl. She was diagnosed with leukemia and she created a ‘just dying to-do-list’ with her best friend Harvey. She planned to do a wild adventure and take revenge on the enemies. But in the future, she has to face the consequences of the actions has done thought of the end is near. 

13. All You Need is Love

By Emily Franklin

Love Bukowski returns to her homeland in the USA from an amazing semester in London. After coming back everything has changed. Her ex-boyfriend Jacob came back into her life, her father has a new girlfriend, and her aunt is suffering from breast cancer. With this much diversification in her life, she was kind of happy and confused at the same time. When she talks with her aunt she begins to learn important information regarding her estranged mother. To find stability in life she has to confront the deepest fear.

14. Every Day

By David Levithan

“A” wakes up in a new body every day. Every day in a different body, different life. He meets a girl named Rhiannon and everything changes. She is someone he could want to be with every day. 

Every Day has a movie adaptation as well which was released in 2018 starring Angourie Rice and Lucas Jade Zumann.

Advertisement

15. Midnight Sun

By Stephenie Meyer

Katie Price is a 17-year-old girl who has a different kind of rare disease. Because of that disease, she can’t let her body be exposed to the sunlight. She plays guitar in a train station in the dark of night where she crosses with star athlete Charles Reed.   

16. If I Stay

By Gayle Forman

Mia, a 17-years-old girl met with a car accident. She is watching from somewhere above as her damaged body is taken out from a wreckage of a car. Mia is wondering what kind of future she would have now. She has to decide if she should struggle to stay alive or not. It will be worth it or not.

17. The Perks of Being Wallflowers

By Stephen Chbosky

Charlie is a Fifteen-year-old boy who is writing a letter to an unnamed recipient about his first-year experience in high school. He has mentioned everything he experienced in his first year including Family struggle, relationships, sexuality, and experimentation with drugs and alcohol.

He also included the emotional aftermath of his best friend’s suicide. 

This story has a movie adaptation as well which was released in 2012 starring Emma Watson. 

18. Little & Lion

By Brandy Colbert

A schoolgirl named Suzette returns home to Los Angeles from New England where she was in her boarding school. She returns to support her stepbrother Lionel who has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder. This book will tackle issues like mental illness, family problems, and sexuality. 

19. Dive

By Stacey Donovan

Virginia “V” Dunn is a teenage girl whose home life is not going well. Her father is suffering from a deadly disease, her mother’s alcoholism is getting worse day by day, and her dog was hurt in an accident. Despite these things, she develops a crush on a girl named Jane. She is a ray of hope in v’s dark life. Even though V is aware of her own feelings, she is concerned about her sexuality and her identity. But Jane is very positive and progressive so V decides to give it a shot. 

20. Everything, Everything

By Nicola Yoon

A teenage girl whose name is Maddy. She has severe allergies that leave her unable to live in the outside world. But when a boy named Nick moves in next door, and they start talking through the window and they fall in love with each other. But then she risks her to see him.

Advertisement

21. Will Grayson Will Grayson

By John Green and David Levithan

This book is about two characters who have the same name ‘Will Grayson’. The first one is a gay teen who is trying to navigate his sexuality and the other Will Grayson is a Straight teen who keeps things to himself only and tries to skate. They both go through their own separate challenges and try to test their strength. 

22. Crazy

By Nolan Han

This national award-winning book tells the story of a 15-year-old boy Jason. After his mother’s death, Jason’s father becomes mentally unfit. When things get improper at home, Jason takes help from his imaginary friends to deal with the situation and his grief and anxiety. That’s how he gets some temporary relief. Things become worse and it becomes very hard for him to make it through. 

23. Simon vs. Homosapiens Agenda

By Becky Albertalli

Simon Spier a 16-year-old gay boy exchanges secret emails with another closeted boy in the school. They both share their innermost secrets like feelings about their life and sexual preferences. Eventually, they began developing an attraction towards each other. One day these emails fell into the wrong hands, those other students started blackmailing him, now Simon is stuck in a tricky situation. Either he can agree with the blackmailer’s demands or get thrown out of the closet and expose another boy as well. 

Wrapping up

This was the list top 23 books that are like The fault in our stars. I hope you have liked the content and if you have any suggestions then please comment down below and don’t forget to share with social-media handle.

Exit mobile version