Site icon The SoftBook

10 Best Books like the Perks of Being a Wallflower

The book perks of being a Wallflower is the young adult novel which is based on epistolary by American writer Stephen Chbosky. It was first published on February 1, 1999, through pocketbooks.

This book was about a young boy named Charlie(protagonist), an introverted observing teenager, during his freshman year of high school in a Pittsburgh suburb.

 The books show Charlie’s unusual style of thinking and seeing things from a very different angle, as he steers between the world of adolescence and adulthood, and puts effort to deal with poignant questions by his dealings with both his friends and family. To all young fiction books lovers and also all the perks of being wallflower book fans this is the right place for all of you.

In this novel, the author addresses themes of adolescence, including sexuality, adulthood problems, and mental health, while also making several references to other literary works, film, and pop culture that are also adept at these books as a movie. So this book is something you all teenagers and adults love to read and here we recommend you all similar books like the perks of being the wallflower.

List of best books like of the perks being the wallflower

The Catcher in the Rye

by J.D Salinger

The catcher in the dye is the young adult fiction and coming of age story novel which was published on 16 July 1951. The novel addresses two days in the life of 16-year-old Holden Caulfield after he has been evicted from preschool. 

In the 1950s a young man named Holden Caulfield recounts the days following his expulsion for Spencer to set up a private school. After a fight with his roommate, trade later, Holden leaves school two days early to explore New York before returning home, interacting with teachers, prostitutes, nuns, an old girlfriend, and his sister along the way. J.D Salinger’s traditional the catcher in the rye exemplifies a teenager’s dramatic struggle against death and growing up.

Advertisement

Speak

By Laurie Halse Anderson

This book is something that all girls and women will relate to the book written by Laurie Halse Anderson which was originally published in 1999. This is young adult fiction.

The story of high school freshman student Melinda sordino has denied speaking ever since she called the police on a popular summer party, with her old friends insulting her or being an informer and her parents Elizabeth Perkins, D.B Sweeney” too busy to see her problem, she folds into herself, trying to hide her secret that star senior Andy ” Eric lively” rapped her at the party but Melinda does manage to find relief in her art class steered by Mr. Freeman “Steve Zahn”.

Looking for Alaska

By John Green

Looking for Alaska is a young adult fiction novel and it was published on 3 March 2005 by Dutton Juvenile.

Miles halter goes to boarding school to get a fresh start. Once he’s at school, at first is a nonnative, but soon makes friends with various different people. He has a Boring life until he meets a gorgeous Alaska that is completely remembered by her. He soon finds out that she is a lot more complete then she seems and gets inundated in lies and mischief, based on the best selling book.

Advertisement

The Absolutely true diary of a Part-time Indian

By Sherman Alexie

This is a first-person narrative novel by Sherman Alexie, from the viewpoint of native American teenagers. It’s original published on 12 September 2007 and the genre of the book is bildungsroman and diary fiction.

So the story of junior, a budding cartoonist growing up on the Spokane Indian qualm inferred to take his future into his own hands. Junior leaves his troubled school on the rez to attend an all-white farm town high school where the only extra Indian is the schoolmaster.

Eleanor & park

By Rainbow Rowell

This is a romance novel by Rainbow Rowell which is originally published in 2012.

So the story is Eleanor and Park are two sixteen-year-olds, who were compelled to sit together on a school bus in 1980’s Omaha Nebraska, the two could not be more unique Eleanor, the new girl in town is bigger than average and struggles with bad home life. Park, a gloomy half Korean comic, book love is just predicting his life and himself out, as they swoop head, on into an unplanned, incomprehensible first live, their lives begin to crack and crumble, soon,  it is not their job to keep themself together, but each other together.

The Hate you Give

By Angela Thomas

It is Thomas’s debut novel, improved from a short story she wrote in college in reaction to the police shooting of Oscar Grant .It was originally published on 28 February 2017, and the genre of the book is urban fiction and young adult fiction.

Advertisement

Starr Carter is constantly shifting between two worlds: the poor, mostly black, neighborhood where she lives, and the wealthy, mostly white, prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is broken down when she starts witnessing the deadly shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Now facing pressure from all sides of the community, Starr must find her voice and stand up for what’s right.

Tell me again how a crush should feel

By Sara Farizan

This book was originally published on 7 August 2014.

Leila strives to come to terms with her crush, as well as her twisted thoughts about not just whether to come out to her friends but how An Iranian family friend was overthrown from his family rejected for lack of a better term and Leila fears the same if she discloses her true self to her family

The fault in our star

By John Green

This is a very famous and most popular book for adults and today’s youth.it was originally published on 10 January 2012, and at that time the book attracted many young boys and girls.

So basically the novel is about realistic fiction and young adult fiction. In this book, Hazel and Augustus are two teenagers who share harsh fun, a contempt for the conventional, and a love that slides them on a journey. Their relationship is all the more incredible given that Hazel’s other constant companion is an oxygen tank, Gus jokes about his prosthetic leg, and they meet and fall in love at a cancer support group.

Advertisement

Thirteen reasons why

By Jay Asher

This is a young adult novel which was written on October 18  2007 by Jay Jay asher. It’s young adult fiction and people loved to read and it’s also a New York Times Bestselling book.

Thirteen reasons why is the story of Hannah Baker, a high schooler who commit suicide b, clay gets a box of tapes from Hannah, his late classmate and crush after she kills herself, on the tapes, which get passed along to other students based on Hannah’s instructions Hannah discloses the 13reasonsn why she took her own life.

Dying to know you

By Aidan Chambers

This is an unusual book, in that it’s auctioned as a young adult fiction book which was originally published in April 2012.

It is the story about Karl aged seventeen, is hopelessly in love, but the object of his affections so, the

Karl is madly in love with his girlfriend Fiorella, to prove his love for her she wants him to write her letter, telling her exactly how he feels. There is only one problem: Karl is dyslexic and tries to write.

Exit mobile version